top of page
Writer's picture

REGROW HERBS FROM SCRAPS

Regrowing herbs can be easy. All you need are some herb cuttings and a jar of water!


When I was in the planning stages of starting my balcony garden I felt very overwhelmed and didn't know where to start. There was so much I had to learn about the soil, the water and fertilizing. Adding to that, all the garden centers were sold out of almost everything.


I was getting impatient! That's when I decided to regrow fresh herbs I bought from the grocery store.

I've seen all the posts on social media about growing food from scraps. I had some fresh oregano, sage, thyme and tarragon, so I thought "why not try it myself". I used some containers I had laying around, filled them with water and put them in a sunny location. Et voilà, mini propagation station!




Two weeks later... No roots, just herbs in water


After two weeks I was a bit disappointed not to see any root development. What did I do wrong? Maybe I didn't change the water enough (which I probably didn't). Well, it turns out that the chances of herbs rooting from grocery store cuttings is dependent on a few factors.

1. Type of herb

Not all herbs are easy to grow in water. Soft stem herbs have a better chance of rooting in water opposed to woody herbs. It is still possible to root woody herbs in water, just make sure the stem is green and hasn't turned brown yet. These herbs typically do better being planted directly in soil.

2. Freshness

A herb stem that is cut directly from a plant is going to root better in water opposed to herbs that have been cut, transported and sitting on a grocery shelf. Not saying it isn't possible, it's just not ideal.

3. Luck of the draw

Just like when you germinate seeds, not all the herbs you cut are going to grow. There are different things you can do to encourage root growth such as buying rooting hormone or dipping the cut stem in honey. These methods are can increase the chances of your herbs developing roots.



END RESULTS


Out of the four herbs I tried to regrow from cuttings, only one rooted, the Sage. I had two sage cuttings when I started and one out of the two sprouted roots. After the first sign of roots, it took another 3 weeks before the roots were grown enough for the herb to be transplanted into soil. In the end I had to throw the other herbs in the garbage. Looking back now, it feels like a waste because I could have used those herbs to make a delicious meal.




Do I think you should go to your local supermarket just to buy fresh herbs to put in water and grow?

NO! Don't waste your money. You are better off using those herbs for their intended purpose, cooking. The only reason I used the fresh herbs I had in my fridge was because I knew I wasn't going to have the time to cook them before they went bad and there was enough that I would still have some to use for cooking.

If you already have thriving herbs growing in your garden and you want to expand, then I think this method is a good way to grow more herbs. If you are just starting out like I was, go to your local garden center and buy the herbs already grown. You will get instant gratification and will be enjoying those herbs in your favourite meals in no time!


 

Update

Since starting my balcony garden, I have successfully propagated Mint that I cut directly from the herb. The Sage cutting has been transplanted into soil and is doing great. I'm gradually increasing the time it spends outside in my garden and bringing it in at night. Soon it will be ready to join the rest of the herbs in my garden permanently.



98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


8D23D9E3-8692-45E1-99A8-92FA3C1F3AF9.PNG

Home + Kitchen + Garden

  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
bottom of page